Organisation Of The Curriculum

What is the National Curriculum?

DSC05843State schools in England must teach a range of subjects according to targets set by the National Curriculum. This was established in 1989 to ensure the same standards of teaching and learning across the nation.
The National Curriculum covers learning for all children aged 5-16 in state schools, and sets out:

  • Which subjects should be taught
  • The knowledge, skills and understanding your child should achieve in each subject (according to your child’s age)
  • Targets – so teachers can measure how well your child is doing in each subject
  • How information on your child’s progress should be passed on to you.

Since September 2014 Curriculum Plans are now made available online for parents to view. Please click here to view.

The National Curriculum is composed of (click on each subject for more detailed information):-

Core subjects

Foundation Subjects 

Additional subjects – PSHE (Physical, Social, Health, Economic) and Modern Foreign Languages.

More time is given to the Teaching and Learning of the core subjects of the National Curriculum than to the delivery of the Foundation subjects, Religious Education or the Additional subjects.


Work is planned to meet the needs of each child and is delivered according to their ability. Some children need clearly defined programmes of work monitored closely by an adult in either a one-to-one or small group situation. Other children will be expected to conduct their own research using library and computer skills.

The curriculum is organised to ensure complete coverage for each child as s/he passes through the school. This is achieved through thorough planning as follows:-

  • Long term
  • Medium term
  • Short term
  • Daily

Teaching Styles
The Children are taught in a variety of ways:-

  • One to one
  • Small groups
  • Whole class

Encouragement is given to work hard and achieve potential. The opportunity is always there for a child to progress at their own rate and pace.